GoodInternship

Canada internship pay

Only 54.3% of open postings in Canada publish pay (656 of 1,209), so every figure here is about those postings, not all internships · as of Nov 6, 2026

In the US? See US internship pay →

Median hourly pay (C$)C$30.52Middle half C$25.50–C$42.30 · N=358

Pay here is concentrated: University of Ottawa (29.1%) and Hitachi Energy (4.5%) together account for 33.5% of the Canadian postings behind these pay figures.

Paid, unpaid, or not stated
Out of all 1,209 open postings in Canada (1,272 requisitions).
Publish their pay
54.3% (656 of 1,209)
Say they are unpaid
0% (0 of 1,209)
Mention pay we couldn't read
9.1% (110 of 1,209)
Don't say
36.6% (443 of 1,209)
By field
Median C$ per hour, middle half, and N (postings that publish pay). A posting can be in several fields, or none. 3 fields with fewer than 30 such postings aren't shown.
FieldMedianMiddle halfN
Computer ScienceC$29.53C$26.10–C$38.2154
EngineeringC$29.50C$26.00–C$32.4048
BusinessC$26.50C$24.50–C$35.0047
By province
Median C$ per hour, middle half, and N (postings that publish pay). Canadian postings with a province. 4 provinces with fewer than 30 such postings aren't shown.
ProvinceMedianMiddle halfN
ONC$35.62C$25.96–C$42.30259
BCC$26.17C$23.37–C$31.8331
By term
Median C$ per hour, middle half, and N (postings that publish pay). The term the posting names; “Not stated” when it names none. 2 terms with fewer than 30 such postings aren't shown.
TermMedianMiddle halfN
Not statedC$26.17C$24.02–C$30.25171
WinterC$42.30C$34.86–C$42.30129
SummerC$34.11C$26.75–C$41.1242

How these numbers are made

Counting unit: a posting is one role. Repeat requisitions from the same employer with the same title and the same location (city, state or province, country, and remote or not) count once, using the newest one. A role posted once per office therefore adds one pay value, not one per office. Open, de-duplicated postings located in Canada only. Pay is compared per hour in Canadian dollars, and only pay published in Canadian dollars is used: nothing is converted between C$ and US$, and no figure mixes the two. Weekly pay ÷ 40, monthly × 12 ÷ 2,080, yearly ÷ 2,080, and a range counts at its midpoint. Hourly values outside C$5–C$250are almost always misread amounts and are left out (0 postings). 298 postings that publish pay are left out of the pay figures as teaching-assistant or corrector roles (by title: “teaching assistant”, “correcteur” or “correctrice”, or a TA / COR / CORR code alongside “CUPE” or a course number), because their pay is set by university union agreements and would dominate the sample. They still count everywhere else, including the share that publishes pay. Provinces are the province on the posting. Any group with fewer than 30 postings that publish pay isn't shown, and each table says how many it left out. “Middle half” is the 25th to 75th percentile. “Say they are unpaid” counts postings without published pay whose description calls the role unpaid (“unpaid leave” and the like don't count). Dates are when a posting was first seen; application deadlines are too rarely stated to use.