GoodInternship

Internship pay

Only 42.8% of open postings publish pay (5,209 of 12,158), so every figure here is about those postings, not all internships · as of Nov 6, 2026

In Canada? See Canada internship pay →

Median hourly pay (US$)$27.00Middle half $22.50–$36.11 · N=4,545
Median hourly pay (C$)C$30.52Middle half C$25.50–C$42.30 · N=358
Paid, unpaid, or not stated
Out of all 12,158 open postings (14,700 requisitions).
Publish their pay
42.8% (5,209 of 12,158)
Say they are unpaid
1% (125 of 12,158)
Mention pay we couldn't read
15.6% (1,900 of 12,158)
Don't say
40.5% (4,924 of 12,158)

US pay, in US$

The by-field, by-state and by-term tables below use only pay published in US dollars. Canadian-dollar pay is on the Canada page.

By field
Median US$ per hour, middle half, and N (postings that publish pay). US$ pay only. A posting can be in several fields, or none.
FieldMedianMiddle halfN
Business$25.60$22.00–$35.001,017
Engineering$29.50$25.00–$36.21691
Computer Science$35.00$26.74–$45.56539
Finance$27.00$23.00–$35.43510
Data Science$37.50$27.00–$58.00383
Product & Design$29.00$24.50–$38.12224
By state
Median US$ per hour, middle half, and N (postings that publish pay). US postings with a state. 29 states with fewer than 30 such postings aren't shown.
StateMedianMiddle halfN
CA$38.00$29.00–$47.57786
NY$31.73$24.00–$50.00393
MA$30.50$25.00–$36.30278
IL$26.50$23.29–$32.50246
TX$28.00$23.50–$35.05240
MN$25.00$22.50–$26.56143
VA$22.00$17.00–$25.00125
CO$26.92$24.40–$32.00117
NJ$35.00$25.00–$36.30105
MI$32.75$20.50–$35.19105
WA$28.50$23.35–$37.50102
OH$23.38$21.38–$27.00100
PA$31.59$22.75–$36.30100
WI$25.00$22.75–$27.0098
FL$25.00$23.00–$32.0081
NC$24.03$22.73–$28.4062
IN$22.82$18.00–$30.0059
GA$25.00$22.88–$33.5056
MO$23.67$20.00–$25.5042
AZ$22.50$21.93–$30.0040
DC$18.50$18.40–$23.7535
CT$27.00$26.00–$33.0034
By term
Median US$ per hour, middle half, and N (postings that publish pay). US$ pay only. The term the posting names; “Not stated” when it names none.
TermMedianMiddle halfN
Not stated$26.00$21.00–$36.302,329
Summer$28.00$23.46–$37.001,753
Spring$25.00$22.00–$31.68334
Winter$37.00$29.00–$42.5089
Fall$20.50$13.94–$31.3740

How these numbers are made

Counting unit: a posting is one role. Repeat requisitions from the same employer with the same title and the same location (city, state or province, country, and remote or not) count once, using the newest one. A role posted once per store therefore adds one pay value, not one per store. Open, de-duplicated postings only. Pay is compared per hour in US dollars: weekly pay ÷ 40, monthly × 12 ÷ 2,080, yearly ÷ 2,080, and a range counts at its midpoint. Hourly values outside $5–$250 are almost always misread amounts and are left out (0 postings). 301 postings that publish pay are left out of the pay figures as teaching-assistant or corrector roles (by title: “teaching assistant”, “correcteur” or “correctrice”, or a TA / COR / CORR code alongside “CUPE” or a course number), because their pay is set by university union agreements and would dominate the sample. They still count everywhere else, including the share that publishes pay. Canadian-dollar pay is kept separate (see the Canada page). Any group with fewer than 30 postings that publish pay isn't shown. “Middle half” is the 25th to 75th percentile. “Say they are unpaid” counts postings without published pay whose description calls the role unpaid (“unpaid leave” and the like don't count). Dates are when a posting was first seen; application deadlines are too rarely stated to use.